skip to main content

Local Government

The City of Minot is located in north central North Dakota.  Minot has 37,000 residents and is the 4th largest city in North Dakota.  Founded in 1886 during the construction of the Great Northern Railway, Minot is also known as the "Magic City". Minot's economy thrives on the Minot Air Force Base which is *located 13 miles north of town.

The mayor of Minot is Curt Zimbelman, a banker. As mayor he chairs the 14-member City Council, but only casts a vote to break a tie. The day-to-day affairs of the city are handled by the City Manager, currently David Waind.  Minot uses the council-manager system of government. Fourteen councilmen are elected from seven city wards to four-year terms. One councilman from each ward is elected in every even-numbered year. The mayor of Minot is elected to a four-year term as well.

Overlooking Minot
ADA Compliance Errors 0